The Cuckoo’s Nest: My Days in a Spanish Elementary School, Part 3

Just a short post today which includes a few quotes, spoken and written, from the kids in my classes.  It’s Valentine’s Day, and instead of dwelling on my own disillusionment about the idea of love, I’ll rely on the relentless and unintentional humor of the child’s mind.  We’ve been making Valentine’s Day cards, and the love was a flowing…

*          *          *

“I love you mum, you look like a top model.  Sometimes.”

“I don’t like love.”

“If you want to know how many I love you, you can count the stars in the sky.”

“Valentine’s Day is a nice day when you can do special things to your partner.”

“I don’t like when girls and boys are kissing, just hugs would be better.”

“I’m going to try to give 317 hugs today, I have to go.”

“Today is killing me!”

*          *          *

Today was one of those rare days, when the planets aligned, the whole class got A’s on an exam, spirits were high, and kids were walking around spontaneously being nice to each other.  I suppose this kind of thing should happen more often.

3 thoughts on “The Cuckoo’s Nest: My Days in a Spanish Elementary School, Part 3

Leave a Reply

