Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

It appears that the amount of writing I do is inversely proportional to the amount of sun and beach I’m exposed to. I hope I don’t have to move to Seattle or Cornwall to rediscover the muse.  These photos, though, will be followed later with some words.

I spent a solo day in the beautiful little port town of Sóller, on the northwest side of Mallorca.  Towns like Sóller remind me of all the things that attract me again and again to the Mediterranean: small stoney houses spilling down around rocky coast, boats pulled up to modest quays stern-first, overly tanned people sipping and snacking around small tables, sunshades, the obligatory lighthouse, palm trees, antiquated fishing boats that never seem to leave their moorings, sailors in transit with the satisfied, concentrated look of someone finally enjoying a real vacation.

Back in Palma

